Home

The Politics of Pontius Pilate: How Not to Lead

“Of course, the consequences of Pilate’s decision have no modern analog; there’s no Easter equivalence, no aspect of our policy or politics that compares to the horror of Jesus’s death, and hope of his resurrection.

But in seemingly benign ways every day, our leaders still practice a lesser form of Pontius Pilate politics—with dangerous, deadly consequences.”

It’s a rare breed of politician who aspired to become one for altruistic reasons. Governing can be a thankless task…If money and power were removed from the equation, few would take it on. Forgive me for being cynical, but I have a hearty distrust of those who engage in any form of statesmanship. Whilst it is a bit of a stretch to assert that everything they say is apocryphal, I do wonder how often it is they believe their own rhetoric.

Our esteemed Prime Minister’s recent appeal for Britain to be more evangelical struck me as highly suspect (not to mention unprogressive), particularly in a country that’s largely secular in practice, with only an obligatory nod to the CoE every now and then. Could he be riding the wave of prevailing anti-Muslim sentiments?

Tories have been running scared ever since UKIP started rising in the polls, so perhaps this is Cameron’s desperate attempt to win over the ultra-conservative. Aside from this sceptered isle not having produced any strong leaders for decades, it’s difficult to put your faith in any party when you’re aware they could be spouting anything just to get the votes.

Though I am by no means suffering from apathy, the machinations of politics and its total lack of transparency frustrates me. Take, for instance, the whole EU debate. In a world that could do with less division, staying in would be the obvious choice. However, not one to fall back on sheer idealism, I thought I’d do a bit of research.

A quick Google turns up tons of information, from a wide range of sources, and all inconclusive. It was suggested the Clegg-Farage showdown might prove educational, but I refused to watch it and rightly so. Weigh the arguments of a politician I’ve never trusted against one who has now lost my trust? No thanks. I’d rather remain clueless.

By most accounts, this odd pairing (where were Cameron and Milliband’s voices in all of this?) turned out to be no more than a popularity contest, with silver-tongued Farage gaining the upper hand most likely due to his eloquence…the same type of eloquence that’s been known to hand criminals the get-out-of-jail card.

Neither of the left nor right persuasion, election days have always been a bit of a challenge for me. The temptation to pull a Russell Brand is sometimes overwhelming, and were it not for the fact that I could deprive the BNP by simply placing my vote elsewhere, I probably would have. I reserve the same contempt for UKIP, so next year will no doubt see a repeat of what I did during the previous general election. And until a candidate of note comes along to end this farce, the Monster Raving Loony Party will have my full backing.

Leave a Reply

